Did not become law. It stopped in the House of Representatives's Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee on June 27, 2025. The 2025 session has ended.
2025 Regular Session
House Bill 2584
Prohibits a franchisor from imposing upon or collecting from a franchisee a fee that the franchisor did not disclose in the agreement under which the franchisor and franchisee established the franchise or in the disclosure document a franchisor must provide to the franchisee under federal law.
What it does
The synopsis the Legislative Assembly published with the bill.
Digest: Stops a franchisor from charging a fee that was not listed in the contract that created the franchise or shown in the disclosure that under federal law a franchisee must see before buying a franchise. Lets a franchisee sue a person for breaking the law. Lets a state agency issue an order to stop the violation. (Flesch Readability Score: 60.9). Prohibits a franchisor from imposing upon or collecting from a franchisee a fee that the franchisor did not disclose in the agreement under which the franchisor and franchisee established the franchise or in the disclosure document a franchisor must provide to the franchisee under federal law.
Sponsors
Who carried the bill in each chamber, and who signed on. Each name leads to the member's page.
In the House of Representatives
Sponsor
Its course
January 13 to June 27, 2025, on one scale. In the top row each mark is a day something happened; taller marks are busier days.
Each committee stop sits inside its chamber.
Every action3 actions on 3 days
In the House of RepresentativesJan 13 to Jun 27 · stopped165 days
Waiting for a committeeJan 13 to Jan 174 days
Commerce and Consumer ProtectionJan 17 to Jun 27 · stopped161 days
Text
Each version as the Legislative Assembly printed it.
l9n doesn't hold this bill's text yet.
What happened
In l9n's words, one line for each step. Every action as the Legislative Assembly published it is below.
In the House of Representatives Jan 13 – Jun 27
- Jan 13Introduced
- Jan 17Sent to Commerce and Consumer Protection
- Jun 27Died when the session ended
All 3 actions, as published
- Jan 13First reading. Referred to Speaker's desk.House of Representatives
- Jan 17Referred to Commerce and Consumer Protection.House of Representatives
- Jun 27In committee upon adjournment.House of Representatives